Concepts of Raaga

The musical scale contains 7 + 5 notes. (7-shuddha & 5 komal and tivra)( flat and sharp).

From these 12 notes selected notes (minimum 5) are used to build up a melodic structure and are called a Raga. It is believed that there are about 300 Ragas. However, only around 50 are heard in performances. The lesser known and difficult to perform Ragas are called “Achhop’ and ‘Anavat’ or ‘Aprachalit’ respectively.

Every Raga has melodic centers, two of which include – one of principal importance and the other a little less important and are called Vadi’ and ‘Samvadi respectively. Notes which support Vadi and Samvadi notes are called Anuvadi notes. Notes that are excluded from the Raga structure are called Vivadi notes.

Ragas with melodic movements centered in the first half of the scale (Sa to Pa) is called “Purvang Ragas and the second half of the scale (Ma to upper octave Sa) are called ‘Uttarang Ragas’.

According to tradition, every Raga has a definite time period for performance during a time cycle of 24 hours. A large section of the music community accepts this concept even at present. Some believe that the concept is scientifically based on an intimate relationship between sound and light.

Read More

Published in: on April 26, 2010 at 2:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: